邦咯島(Pulau Pangkor)位於馬來西亞霹靂州西南部海岸,是马来西亚公認最美麗的島嶼之一。面积大约8平方公里,有大约25000位居民。当地居民靠渔业、海洋产品和旅游业为生。

邦咯島是由九座小島組成的島群中,最大的一座島。邦咯島居民多以捕魚為生,全島面積雖小,但設施齊全,住宿方便且消費大眾化。該島的歷史古蹟有荷蘭炮台、富有中華民族建築風格的寺廟、設有迷你萬里長城的福靈宮以及沙爹製造廠等,都是這裡的旅遊特點。

歷史上,邦咯島是當地漁民、商人及海盜的避難好地方。在17世紀時,為控制霹靂州的錫貿易,荷蘭人開始在邦咯島修築堡壘,以加強對當地的控制,此堡壘為現今旅遊景點之一。1874年,英國政府與霹靂州蘇丹在當地簽訂《邦咯條約》,正式開始了英國在馬來半島的殖民統治。

邦咯島居民的住所零星分佈在島嶼的東岸,距離不遠處就是紅土坎(Lumut)和直落岜迪(Teluk Batik)。若要前去漁村,遊客可以從紅土坎乘坐渡輪,约40 分鐘即抵达;渡輪終點站是邦咯島,中途會在 Sungai Pinang Kecil 和 Sungai Pinang Besar兩處居民區的站點停靠。

邦咯岛有两个著名的海滩,即Pasir Bogak及Teluk Nipah。这里为旅客提供许多海上活动,如: 潜水、滑浪及钓鱼等。Pasir Bogak现已发展得相当完善,而Teluk Nipah则还保留著乡村的环境氛围。岛上也备有各等级的住宿设备,游客还可以租用小货车或摩哆车 (机车) ,进行环岛的活动。岛上的每一个定点都有餐馆,而許多遊客也為當地的海鲜餐馆慕名而来。

Pangkor Island (Pulau Pangkor) located at the Southwest coast of Perak in Malaysia, it is also recognized as one of the most beautiful island in Malaysia. With the total surface area of 8 km², and approximately 25000 peoples on the island, which mainly do fishing, marine products and tourism for living.

Pangkor Island is the largest island among the nine island around it. Most of the Pangkorians do fishing for livings, the surface area of Pangkor island is small but well-equipped with convenient accommodation and moderate expenses. The island’s historic monuments are Dutch Fort, temples in ancient Chinese architectural style, satay manufacturer etc, which are the tourist spots in Pangkor Island.

Historically, Pangkor Island is the best refugee spot for the local fisherman, merchants, and pirates. In the 17th Century, Dutch Fort was built in Pangkor Island, in order to strengthen the control of tin trade in Perak, which now it became a tourist attraction. In 1874, the British government signed the “Pangkor Treaty” with Sultan of Perak, and British officially began ruling in the Malay Peninsula.

Residential area of Pangkor Island mainly scattered in the east coast of the Island not far from Lumut and Teluk Batik. For visitors who intend to visit the fishing village, they could take a ferry from Lumut, which takes approximately 40 minutes to arrive. Pangkor Jetty is the ferry terminal, while they will dock at Sungai Pinang Kecil along the way.

Pangkor has two famous beaches – the Pasir Bogak and Teluk Nipah. Visitors can enjoy water sports here such as: diving, surfing, fishing etc. Pasir Bogak has developed quite well, while Teluk Nipah is still preserved with country-styled ambience. Various grades and styles of accommodations are also available on the island, visitors can also rent a van or motorcycle if they wish to travel around on their own. Restaurants could be found easily on the island, and most of the visitors came especially for seafood.